Behind the Waterfall

Number 116 on my adventure list was to go swimming next to a waterfall.  I have always loved waterfalls (but really, who doesn’t?)  When I was a kid, one of my favorite movies was Behind the Waterfall.  I won’t spoil it for you, but there is something magical hidden behind the falls in this film.  When I think of waterfalls now, I still think of magic.  That’s probably why this one ended up on my list.

Living in the midwest, I don’t get the chance to see very many waterfalls.  But in January, I found myself at this enchanting little spot in New Zealand.

DCIM100GOPRO

This swimming hole is on my brother-in-law and his fiance’s property.  The privacy and seclusion of this spot just adds to the charm.

IMG_3496.jpg

Although the water was a little cold, and I was a little afraid of potential eels lurking about, it was definitely worth it to jump in.  This was one of the most beautiful spots I’ve ever seen.

IMG_3591.jpg

Also works as a water slide

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 8.54.38 PM.png

Top of the falls

GOPR0572.jpgWe didn’t find anything mysterious behind the waterfall.

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 8.50.51 PM.png

But there’s always next time.

Screen Shot 2017-01-21 at 8.29.18 PM.png

-A

Leave a Reply

