Merry Little Dinner Party

This weekend, I got to cross off something on my bucket list that I’ve wanted to do for a long time – host a dinner party.

11214309_10205906648407637_2118105887957207957_n

22. Host a dinner party.  I decided that a Christmas-themed party would be the perfect time to host a dinner with friends.  I set the date and invited guests about 2 to 3 weeks in advance.  I knew I wanted to keep the guest list short so it wouldn’t be too overwhelming to plan/cook, so we only invited a few people.  The real planning started about a week before the party.  I made a daily checklist for the 7 days leading up to the dinner, which included decorating, cleaning, and food prep.  This helped the day of run much smoother.

Menu

food

Appetizer

Spinach Artichoke Dip with homemade bread

Dinner

Pork tenderloin

Twice baked potatoes

Oven roasted asparagus

Texas Roadhouse Rolls

Macaroni and Cheese Muffins

Pear and Greens Salad

Dessert

Apple Pie (used my Grandma’s recipe)

Pavlova

~

K cooked the pork and made the pavlova dessert.  My best friend helped me make the twice baked potatoes.  All the food turned out great, with the exception of my rolls being a bit flat.  I have used this roll recipe many times in the past with great success, but I think my yeast must have been dead.  Bummer! The food item that surprised me the most though was the Pear and Green salad.  I am not a huge salad eater, but this was delicious!

salad

I was also really proud of how my apple pie turned out.  I used my grandma’s recipe and consulted with her via text a couple times to get her opinion.

apple pie

12346392_10205906652207732_2895698051203042077_n

Unfortunately 2 friends were unable to make the party at the last minute, but I think overall my first dinner party was a success.  I loved planning, playing host, and spending time with everyone.  After dinner, we played games and did a white elephant gift exchange, which was lots of fun.  I think this Christmas party may turn into an annual tradition…

12360180_10205906650487689_6678575875347474628_n

-A

3 thoughts on “Merry Little Dinner Party

    • Thank you! It was a lot of fun! My grandma is one cool lady, that’s for sure. 🙂 It was so nice to be able to send her a quick text to ask about the pie.

  1. Pingback: My 27th Year | Castles in Europe

Leave a Reply

