Craft, Cook, Repeat!

Number 38 on my list is to make one craft per month for a year and Number 51 is to make one new recipe per month for a year, so it’s time for my Month 2 update.  (To see what I made in January, click here.)

Getting Crafty

I’ll start with the craft.  I made a Bucket List Board.  I gathered some inspiration from these two boards.  Click on the picture to travel to the original website.

e85e91188f1f8d860f9dc28635a06690

Love the different categories for this one.

IMG_0987

I really like how this board has all the bucket list items displayed.

I already had an old bulletin board in my closet that I had never used.  The only other things I needed were scrapbook paper, scrapbook letters, tape, and scissors.  I copied and pasted my bucket list items into a Word document and changed the font type and size, and then printed it out.

photo-12

I used leftover scrapbook stickers to make the title.  Then, I taped some shades of blue scrapbook paper directly onto the bulletin board.  The next task was the longest – cutting each bucket list item out.

Once that was done, I just organized the items and subtitles on the board until I liked the layout, and then pinned each item.  Now I will be able to move the items to different categories easily.

photo-5

photo-7

photo-6

I really like having my bucket list goals hanging in my apartment.  It is a good visual reminder to take steps each day toward my goals.

photo-13

My finished bucket list board!

We’re Off to Scotland!

Not really, but I did make a Scottish themed meal.  🙂  Earlier this month, I tried Scottish Eggs at an Irish Pub for the first time.  I absolutely loved them, so I set out to find the recipe.  This inspired me to make an entire dinner of traditional Scottish food.

We had Scotch Eggs (click for recipe), of course.  Delicious.  Quite a bit of prep work, but it’s worth it.  K really liked them, too.

photo-8

And Bacon Clapshot.  For this recipe, I bought and tried my very first turnip.  It was a bit of a mission to find a turnip.  I didn’t know what I was looking for (I had in my head that a turnip and radish are the same thing, but in fact, they are just cousins).  Walmart didn’t have any, but I finally did find one at Hyvee.  It’s exciting to buy a food you haven’t tried before!  I was very proud of my beautiful turnip.

photo-10

photo-9

Scotch Egg cut open – beautiful! And the yummy bacon clapshot.

And lastly, my personal favorite of the night – Cranachan.  K didn’t care for the oatmeal and I preferred it without the fruit or whisky (I’m too much of a sweet tooth!), but overall, I was a huge fan of this recipe.  I have already made it a second time this month!  So, so good.

photo-11

But wait, there’s more!

I tried one more new recipe this month – Buttermilk Cornbread.  Oh my lanta, this was fantastic.  It turned out perfect.

photo-14

I’d say that Month 2 of crafting and cooking was a success.  Have you made any crafts or tried any new recipes lately?  Please share!  🙂

-A

8 thoughts on “Craft, Cook, Repeat!

  1. I’ve got my bucket list goals out in the open in my dining room on a chalkboard. Just all hanging out for all to see. I both love and hate it. Love it because it puts it out there and makes it visible. I hate it because now everyone who comes to my house knows I have a goal to run a marathon (eek).

  2. Pingback: A Year of Crafts | Castles in Europe

Leave a Reply

