Eka Pada Raja…what?!

Today I get to cross off my first list item – Number 31!

happydance

After years of thinking about it, I finally took my first yoga class this afternoon.

tree

I have to admit, I was a little thrown off in the beginning… what was she saying?  Turns out, she was saying the Sanskrit names for the poses.  Before today, I had never heard of Sanskrit.  I really had no idea what to expect from this class.

I did this…

pigeon

One-Legged King Pigeon, or Eka Pada Rajakapotasana

And this.

downward dog

Downward Facing Dog, or Adho Mukha Svanasana

This one…

warrior2

Warrior II, or Virabhadrasana II

…which made me want to sing this…

 

And I did this.

warriorpose

Extended Side Angle Pose, or Utthita Parsvakonasana

And this one.

ICP

Scorpion, or Vrschikasana

Just kidding.  It was my first day…I didn’t do that.

It was a small class, so we all got plenty of one-on-one attention from the instructor.  I felt so relaxed and energized after the class.  There are lots of physical and psychological benefits to yoga.  You can read more about that here.

I’m planning on continuing with this.  My next class is in a week.  I’m so glad I put this item on my list, and I’m even more happy that I crossed it off!

Have you ever tried yoga (or considered it?)  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

-A

14 thoughts on “Eka Pada Raja…what?!

      • Yes it is amazing how sore you are the next day and how many muscles you use that you never realized you have.

        Im a yoga fan just never go as often as I would like.

  1. I don’t know much about yoga but I do all of those moves and then some when I race around the house! I also do a great Happy Dance each time my folks come home after having been gone for a few hours. Sizi

  2. Pingback: Apparently someone doesn’t know me very well… | Diary of a House Elf

Leave a Reply

