Finding my morning fight song

I’ve been struggling to accomplish #59 – become an early riser. At the beginning of last semester, I had this one down for several weeks and it was wonderful. I had time to leisurely enjoy my coffee and a good book, which started my day off right. Unfortunately, as the hardest semester of my graduate school program progressed, I found that I was unable to drag myself out of bed until the last possible second. Now that things have slowed down for me, I want to get back into getting up early.

However, my efforts the past few weeks have been unsuccessful. Every night, I have the strongest motivation to follow through with my goal of getting up early. And every morning, my resolve is weak. I’ll just hit snooze one time, I tell myself as I push the button. A couple hours and about ten snoozes later, I groggily and dejectedly crawl out of bed in defeat and rush to get ready. That same night, my motivation returns, and the next morning, it has mysteriously disappeared yet again.

MeMorningAlarm-12802

When I talked to my best friend about this yesterday, she gave me some great advice. She often gets up at 5:30 a.m. to work out (!!), and I asked her how she does it. She said that what helps her is her “morning fight song”. She then proceeded to play a very invigorating battle song on her phone from some movie that I can’t recall. I felt like I should march to battle after I listened to it. She said that when she hears that first thing in the morning, she feels like she has already conquered the day and she gets right up.

Brilliant.

I’ve tried everything else (including putting my alarm clock far away from my bed so that I have to get up), and nothing is working, so I decided to give my friend’s advice a try. Last night before bed, I found my fight song: The Lion King’s I Just Can’t Wait to be King. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXs8OS6EdAE

And you know what? It worked! I jumped right out of bed and sang my way to the kitchen to make coffee.

surprised-coffee

I had time not only to relax this morning, but I was productive as well.  By 10 o’clock in the morning when I went to my internship, I had already done a load of laundry, cleaned my apartment, worked on my seminar paper, and read a few chapters in my “for fun” book.  Now my challenge is to keep it up.  This blogger says that it takes 30 days to build a habit of waking up early.  I’ve got Day 1 under my belt…I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

Does anyone have any tips or stories to share about waking up early (and resisting the evil snooze button)?

 

-A

7 thoughts on “Finding my morning fight song

  1. Try setting your coffee maker to automatically come on when you want to wake up. The old saying “wake up and smell the coffee” works, but it’s really more like “smell the coffee and wake up.”

    • I loved this idea and decided to give it a try last night. When I woke up this morning, the smell of the coffee was heavenly. But as I slowly came to consciousness, I realized that I had only imagined/dreamed the smell and that my alarm hadn’t even gone off yet. I went back to sleep and later when I did hear my “morning fight song”, I wondered why I couldn’t smell the coffee. I’ve never used the timer on my coffee pot and apparently I didn’t push all the right buttons… But I’m going to try again tonight! 🙂 Thanks for the great idea. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  2. Hi!
    I wish I had a tip to share but I’m struggling with the same problem. I’m definitely gonna try this tip, just have to find my morning fight song.
    Thanks for sharing! ^_^
    A

      • hi! it was going pretty good until it didn’t…aaah…weekends are my waterloo…i have to shut the part of my brain that says “yey! it’s a weekend and i can sleep till noon”…but i’m gonna keep getting back on that wagon or rather get off that bed? until i can finally say yey! challenged done… ^_^
        sorry for the rant…haha
        hope u did better than me! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Fingers Crossed | A's quarterlife crisis

  4. Pingback: Try, try again. | Castles in Europe

Leave a Reply

