Now or Never

I often say, “I’ve always wanted to do that, try that, go there…”  But there is never time or money.  In undergrad, I spent my last two years working so hard to get into graduate school, only to find myself in grad school working even harder so that I can get a job after graduation.  But there is more in life than pushing yourself so hard to reach unattainable perfection.

This brings me to “the list”.  It started with me wanting to make a list of places I want to go and it ended up being a massive to do before I turn 30 list.  So, rather than calling it The Bucket List per the Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson movie, I prefer the Spanish translation of “now or never”.  Without further ado, here is my list.  Let’s see if I can cross all of these things off in the next six years.  🙂

Now or Never List

Complete by December 25, 2018

INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL

EUROPE

1. Tour castles in Europe.  This is my ultimate travel dream, hence the name of my blog.  This is the Neuschwanstein Castle in Germany.  I must go here.

neuschwanstein-castle-romanesque-palace-rugged-hill-germany-europe-miracle1-600x450

2. See the Colosseum in Rome

3. See the Tower of London

4. Explore Barcelona, Spain

5. Watch the sunrise in Santorini, Greece

san_diego_sunrise__99800.1352413281.1280.1280

6. See the Blarney Castle & Rock in Ireland

7. Explore St. Petersburg, Russia

8. See the Cave of Melody in Scotland

9. See the Eiffel Tower in person

moments

NORTH AMERICA

10. Visit Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Cavendish National Historic Site (Canada)

11. Visit Leaskdale Manse in Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada (home of L. M. Montgomery)

12. Stay at some exotic beach resort, like in the Bahamas or Cancun

Cancun (9)

OCEANIA

13. Tour Hobbiton in New Zealand

hobbiton

14. Visit Fiji

Fiji-Travel-Holiday

US TRAVEL

15. Take a train ride

amtrak

16. Ride a cable car in San Francisco

17. Visit all 50 states in the US (26 down, only 24 to go!)

18. Go on a cruise

19. Watch the sunrise at the beach

san_diego_sunrise__99800.1352413281.1280.1280

20. Go to the City Museum in St. Louis, MO

21. Explore Yellowstone National Park

22. Have gumbo in New Orleans

23. Raft through the Grand Canyon

white_water_rafting_w640

24. Walk the Freedom Trail in Boston

25. Tour a lighthouse in Maine

Lighthouse

26. Ride in a horse and buggy around Mackinac Island, Michigan

27. See Mt. Rushmore

28. Pack a bag, go to the airport, and choose a random flight for a weekend adventure

18

29. Take a trip with my best friend.

PHYSICAL ACTIVITIES

30. Go ziplining

Zip-032

31. Take a yoga class

32. Go spelunking

33. Try water skiing

34. Go snorkeling

MatangiResort-FijiSnorkeling2

35. Take a rock climbing class

36. Take a self-defense class

CREATIVITY

37. Take an oil painting class

oils

38. Make one Pinterest craft a month for a year

39. Write a fiction book

writing

40. Write a book of poetry

41. Get paid to write something

READING

42. Read ten of Agatha Christie’s mystery novels.

43. Read every book by my favorite author, L. M. Montgomery (20 total, I’ve read 9 already)

bluecastle

My Favorite Book

44. Read the 100 Best Novels of all time (Modern Library Board’s List)

45. Complete the 52 books in 52 weeks challenge

46. Brush up on American and World History

MOVIES/MUSIC/THEATRE

47. Watch the 100 greatest American movies of all time (as ranked by the AFI).

48. See Adele live in concert

AdelePA230911

49. Attend a Murder Mystery Dinner

50. Attend a masquerade party

masquerade

COOKING

51. Cook one new recipe every month for a year

52. Grow my own vegetables

53. Learn how to make sushi.  (Hopefully K can help me with this!)

sushi

PRACTICAL

54. Learn how to sew

55. Become financially literate (Let’s be honest.  I don’t know much about 401k’s, stocks, mortgages, etc.)

56. Stick with the Dave Ramsey envelope budget for at least a year

money-envelope1-500x375

57. Learn to drive a manual car

58. Learn geography (Because not that long ago, I thought Alaska was an island.  In my defense, maps like this are a bit misleading…)

PERSONAL

59. Become an early riser

Surefire-Ways-to-Make-Yourself-Wake-up-Early-Every-Day

60. Learn a new language

61. Improve my public speaking

62. Pay for a stranger’s groceries

63. Graduate from my Master’s program

Graduate Holding Diploma

64. Become financially self-sufficient

65. Marry the love of my life

588

I plan to document my Now or Never List journey via this blog.  Looks like I better get back to reading if I’m going to complete #45!  🙂

-A

10 thoughts on “Now or Never

  1. I adore your list – so many of those are on my list as well, especially the travel ones! Best of luck to you – I will be following along with your progress. PS. Thanks for stopping by my blog – welcome 🙂 – YB

Leave a Reply

